Posted by on Oct 5, 2017 in Uncategorized |


The Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce’s political-action committee on Oct. 4 endorsed 24 incumbent state delegates for the Nov. 7 election, but did not come out in favor of several Northern Virginia members of the House of Delegates.

The committee, known as NOVABIZPAC, endorsed these House of Delegates incumbents: Gregory Habeeb (R-8th) in Salem; J. Randall Minchew (R-10th) in Leesburg; C. Todd Gilbert (R-15th) in Woodstock; Ronald Villanueva (R-21st) in Virginia Beach; L. Scott Lingamfelter (R-31st) in Woodbridge; Thomas “Tag” Greason (R-32nd) in Lansdowne; David LaRock (R-33rd) in Hamilton; Kathleen Murphy (D-34th) in McLean; Mark Keam (D-35th) in Vienna; David Bulova (D-37th) in Fairfax Station; Vivian Watts (D-39th) in Annandale; Timothy Hugo (R-40th) in Centreville; Eileen Filler-Corn (D-41st) in Springfield; Mark Sickles (D-43rd) in Franconia; Rip Sullivan (D-48th) in Arlington; Jackson Miller (R-50th) in Manassas; Richard Anderson (R-51st) in Woodbridge; Luke Torian (D-52nd) in Dumfries; David Toscano (D-57th) in Charlottesville; M. Kirkland Cox (R-66th) in Colonial Heights; James LeMunyon (R-67th) in Chantilly; S. Chris Jones (R-76th) in Suffolk; Glenn Davis (R-84th) in Virginia Beach; and David Yancey (R-94th) in Newport News.

“The trustees of NOVBIZPAC believe the endorsed candidates are best positioned to work with the Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce to advance a pro-business agenda that helps the Commonwealth of Virginia remain among the best states in the nation for business,” said Scott McGeary, who chairs the political-action committee. “We look forward to working with this bipartisan group of leaders to ensure the issues that matter to the Northern Virginia business community are heard during the 2018 Virginia General Assembly Session.”

The endorsed candidates “have demonstrated a willingness to work with the Chamber to move our legislative agenda forward,” Chamber chairman and CEO Jim Corcoran said in a media statement. “The ability to support such a broad group of citizen legislators helps to enhance the Northern Virginia Chamber’s reputation as a premier business organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia.”

Chamber chairman Harry Klaff thanked NOVABIZPAC’s trustees for thoroughly reviewing the candidates’ records.

“NOVABIZPAC is a key component to the Chamber’s robust business advocacy program, which advances policies in critical areas like transportation, education, public-private partnerships, privatization, taxation, health care and more,” Klaff’s statement read.

NOVABIZPAC did not endorse local Dels. Mark Levine (D-45th) in Alexandria, Patrick Hope (D-47th) in Arlington, Alfonso Lopez (D-49th) in Arlington or Marcus Simon (D-53rd) in Falls Church. Simon and Lopez are facing challengers in the November election.

NOVABIZPAC on Sept. 28 endorsed Ed Gillespie (R) for governor, state Sen. Jill Vogel (R-27th) for lieutenant governor and incumbent Mark Herring (D) for Virginia attorney general.